My First Prom Experience

Hello, world!

As I’m sure you all know, it’s prom season. I’m a junior in high school, so I JUST and my first prom at my private Christian school, so…. it was something else. (By the way, the photo here isn’t of me or anyone I know, I just googled it.)

I asked a friend of mine to come with me. He is a sophomore, and he is only a friend. (Especially after that night.) I asked him a month or so before prom because I thought it would be fun, and it was, except that I thought that I was kind of babysitting him the whole time. He kept wondering off to other groups even though he was my date, and while I did have a ton of fun, I felt restricted by a lot of things he did.

As it’s a Christian school, we aren’t allowed to wear hella cute dresses. Well, I thought my dress was beautiful, but I wanted something that wouldn’t fit the dress code at all.

Yeah, you read that right. We have a prom dress code. It’s ridiculous and makes me laugh when I read it. We can’t have strapless dresses, the dresses can’t show our midriff, the dresses can’t be more than two inches above the knee (my friend had one that was an inch above the knee, and the administration still didn’t approve it), your dress can’t be lower than your armpits (in the front), and your back can’t be below your bra line in the back. (My dress was below that, but somehow I got it approved.)

Overall, my prom experience was great! Even though they didn’t play a lot of current music like you expect to hear at a prom, they played Disney and throwback music, which is all I really ask for. Actually, they did play The Wobble and they kept all the words in, but I don’t think the principal understood what it was saying…

At one point, the DJ (who was a student’s dad) played “Breaking Free” from High School Musical, followed by “Gotta Go My Own Way,” “Get’cha Head In The Game,” and “We’re All In This Together.” It was legendary, especially when two guys acted out GGMOW.

What about you? What was your first prom experience like?

Glitch

Leave a Reply

