Sudden Loss

A much different topic than what I usually write about, but something happened in the past week that broke my heart. 

A 16 year old boy in my town died of the flu.

Yeah. It shocked me, too.

You probably think I’m overreacting, saying it broke my heart, but his death hurt me. Not because I knew him, because I didn’t, but because a very close friend of mine was his best friend. It hurt me because I saw my friend hurting. She still is.

You don’t hear about people dying from the flu. I’m sure there’s more to the story, and I want to know, but it’s not a question people are ready to hear.

The main thing I keep thinking about is this: what would I do if it had been my sister that died? My best friend? There would have been so much that I hadn’t said that I wish I had, so much I would miss that I had previously taken for granted.

I haven’t done this yet, but I need to. I need to tell everyone I care about, everyone I love, how much I appreciate them. How much they mean to me. Because you never know when their last minute on Earth will be. You never know when you will take your last breath.

What do you do when someone you care about dies? What are some good ways to cope? I want to help my friend, but I don’t know what to say to her. Any advice?

Glitch

Leave a Reply

